The other night, I decided to ignore my natural instinct to watch romance movies and I decided to watch a different type of movie, one based on a true story. Best decision I could have made…

The Impossible narrates the story about a tourist family who travels to Thailand and experiences the 2004 Indian Ocean Tsunami; an undersea earthquake with a magnitude of 9.1.

Director: J.A. Bayona

Actors of Interest: Naomi Watts, Ewan McGregor, Tom Holland

Genre: Drama, Thriller

Rated PG-13

Watch when… this isn’t a movie to watch when you’re bored; like I did. I didn’t even know what the movie was about to be honest. I just clicked it and started watching. You have to be emotionally prepared to watch this film because it deserves attention and compassion, in a way. Watch this if you’re alone or with people who will appreciate it.

Opinion: Without doubt, this is one of the best movies I have ever seen (and trust me, I’ve seen a lot of movies). The plot is very well portrayed and honored to the true events. This film contains so many powerful scenes that it makes you laugh, it tenses you up, it makes you cry whether it is out of sadness or joy, and just gets you feeling like an emotional ball of distress. You feel the tension and thrills up to the point that you start to wonder, what if that had happened to me? The music adds a lot to this tension effect, for it is great. But the greatest asset about this film are the actors; I have to give it to Tom Holland on this one. His portrayal of the oldest son and how he grew as a person during this entire story is one that has to be admired.  All the actors were great though, and had great chemistry. The kids even surprised me because usually, when you work with young kids it’s hard to get them to resemble the emotions of the moment but in this film it was just on point. Of course, there are bits and pieces of imperfections, like in everything but the overall result is so pleasing that it makes this film a definite must see!

Available on Netfix or: http://putlockers.ch/watch-the-impossible-2012-online-free-putlocker.html

Leave a Reply

